top of page
dbobyk_210519_1032-MODIF+fond-18mars.jpg

Vagues et ombres
(waves and shadows)

An ode to the aquatic world that surrounds us.

Immerse yourself in a world of colours and textures with the music of Claude Debussy and Luna Pearl Woolf, and the magical shadow theater of Mere Phantoms in Vagues et ombres (waves and shadows). The program includes original arrangements of works by Debussy including his iconic symphonic work, La Mer. A sonic evocation of the underwater world of belugas in the St. Lawrence River estuary, Woolf's Contact addresses an urgent situation affecting the marine ecosystem in Quebec.

 

This show was the subject of a film-concert released in 2021 and of an album published under the Alpha Classics label in 2022.

Music program

Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Des pas sur la neige, Passepied, Clair de lune

Luna Pearl Woolf (born in 1973):Contact*

Claude Debussy:La Mer

I. De l’aube à midi sur la mer

II. Jeux de vagues

III. Dialogue du vent et de la mer

 

Debussy's pieces are arranged by Thibault Bertin-Maghit.

*commissioned by collectif9

Creative team

Concept and artistic direction: Thibault Bertin Maghit

Music: Claude Debussy Luna Pearl Woolf 

Shadow theatre:  Mere Phantoms  (Maya Ersan, Jaimie Robson)

Lighting design: Martin Sirois

What they said

“Contact, [...] a "sound evocation of the underwater world of belugas [...]" where the strings swarm, the energies meet and create a bewitching harmony. A captivating record. Both modern and timeless.”

Le Soir

 

“...a spellbinding album that pays a passionate, sensory homage to the music of Claude Debussy. Vagues et Ombres by the Montrealers of collectif9 adds another beautiful milestone to the impressive career of a chamber orchestra unlike any other.”

PAN M 360

 

“The fourth Étude sounds so natural for string nonet that for a moment one believes this was how it was conceived; ...La Mer concludes the programme and works extraordinarily well [...] recreating Debussy’s magical score afresh.”

Gramophone

 

“Debussy's cycle of symphonic sketches gains a vitality of texture, rhythmic motricity and dare we say it ... also of colors [...] Superb reinterpretation of Debussy by a very in tune, admirably articulated collective.”

Classic News

Photos

Vagues et ombres - The Album

 

The album Vagues et ombres was released in May 2022 on the label Alpha Classics.

Alpha858_Cover.jpg

Vagues et ombres - The film-concert

 

Waves and shadows was the subject of a film-concert (2022) which was broadcast at the International Festival of Films on Art in 2022. The film is currently available on the platform arts.film (in Canada only).

collectif9_Vagues et ombres.jpg
Previous
bottom of page

dbobyk_210519_1032-MODIF+fond-18mars.jpg

Vagues et ombres

Une ode au monde aquatique qui nous entoure.

Plongez dans un univers de couleurs et de textures avec la musique de Claude Debussy et Luna Pearl Woolf, et le théâtre d’ombres féérique de Mere Phantoms dans Vagues et ombres. Le programme comprend des arrangements originaux de pièces de Debussy dont son œuvre symphonique emblématique, La Mer. Évocation sonore du monde sous-marin des bélugas dans l’estuaire du fleuve Saint-Laurent, Contact de Woolf adresse une situation urgente qui affecte l’écosystème marin au Québec.

Ce spectacle a fait l’objet d’un film-concert paru en 2021 et d’un album publié sous l’étiquette Alpha Classics en 2022.

Programme musical

Claude Debussy (1862-1918): Des pas sur la neige, Passepied, Clair de lune

Luna Pearl Woolf (née en 1973): Contact*

Claude Debussy: La Mer

I. De l’aube à midi sur la mer

II. Jeux de vagues

III. Dialogue du vent et de la mer

 

Les pièces de Debussy sont arrangées par Thibault Bertin-Maghit.

*Commande de collectif9

Équipe de création

Conception et direction artistique: Thibault Bertin-Maghit

Musique: Claude Debussy Luna Pearl Woolf 

Théâtre d’ombres:  Mere Phantoms  (Maya Ersan, Jaimie Robson)

Conception lumière: Martin Sirois

Ce qu'on en dit

« Contact, une « évocation sonore du monde sous-marin des bélugas [...] » où les cordes fourmillent, les énergies se rencontrent et créent une harmonie envoûtante. Un disque captivant. À la fois moderne et intemporel. »

- Le Soir

 

« ... un album envoûtant qui rend hommage de façon passionnément sensorielle et même sensuelle à la musique de Claude Debussy. 'Vagues et ombres' des Montréalais de collectif9 ajoute un autre très beau jalon dans le parcours impressionnant d’un orchestre de chambre pas tout à fait comme les autres. »

- PAN M 360

 

« L'Étude n°4 sonne si naturelle pour nonette à cordes que pour un instant on croirait que c’est ainsi qu’elle a été conçue ; ... La Mer conclut le programme et fonctionne extraordinairement bien [...] recréant à nouveau la partition magique de Debussy. »

- Gramophone

 

« Le cycle des esquisses symphoniques [de Debussy] gagne une vitalité de texture, de motricité rythmique et osons le dire aussi de couleurs [...] Superbe relecture de Debussy par un collectif très en phase, admirablement articulé. »

- Classique News

Photos

Vagues et ombres - L'album

 

L'album Vagues et ombres est sorti en mai 2022 sur l'étiquette Alpha Classics.

Alpha858_Cover.jpg

Vagues et ombres - Le film-concert

 

Vagues et ombres a fait l'objet d'un film-concert (2022) qui fut diffusé au Festival international du film sur l'art en 2022. Le film est actuellement disponible sur la plateforme arts.film (à partir du Canada seulement).

collectif9_Vagues et ombres.jpg
Précédent